Sycamore Gap case: Daniel Graham released from prison on licence
The second man convicted over the felling of the landmark sycamore has left prison on licence. His sentence continues in the community under conditions.

Verified brief
The story in 60 seconds
Daniel Graham has been released on licence after serving more than 16 months in custody plus time on remand for damaging the Sycamore Gap tree and Hadrian’s Wall. The release does not end his four-year, three-month sentence.
This brief and the full story below are based on the disclosed sources. SearchTrends Daily’s interpretation appears later under “Our take.”
Full reporting
The complete story
Daniel Graham, one of two men convicted of cutting down the Sycamore Gap tree in Northumberland, has been released from prison on licence, the BBC reported on 12 October. He had served more than 16 months in custody plus time spent on remand. The Ministry of Justice said people released on licence remain subject to conditions and can be returned to prison if they breach them.
Graham and Adam Carruthers were each sentenced in July 2025 to four years and three months for criminal damage to the tree and to Hadrian’s Wall. The Crown Prosecution Service’s sentencing record confirms the convictions, sentence and location. Carruthers was released earlier in 2026. Graham’s release means both men have now left custody, but the licence period is part of the sentence, not an acquittal or the end of criminal supervision.
The precise conditions on Graham’s licence have not been publicly detailed in the material reviewed here. The report should not be read as evidence that he has no restrictions or as proof that a particular release programme applied to him.
Source perspectives
What other reporting adds
These are the reports, official records, and trend observations used to build the story. The note under each link explains exactly what it contributes.
BBC report carried by AOL confirms Graham’s release on licence, time served, earlier release of Carruthers and the Ministry of Justice statement; individual licence terms are not specified.
Read original source ↗Crown Prosecution ServicePair who felled Sycamore Gap tree jailedPrimary prosecution record confirms convictions, criminal damage to the tree and Hadrian’s Wall, July 2025 sentencing, and the four-year, three-month terms.
Read original source ↗Wikimedia CommonsSycamore Gap Tree.jpg — photo by Clementp.fr (2020)Hero image credit: Clementp.fr / Wikimedia Commons. The published image is resized from the original and shows the tree before it was felled; CC BY-SA 4.0.
Read original source ↗Creative CommonsCreative Commons Attribution–ShareAlike 4.0 International licenseLicense governing the Clementp.fr Sycamore Gap photograph used as the hero image. Credit and adaptation details appear in the story.
Read original source ↗SearchTrends Daily opinion
Our take
Analysis
What the evidence and search signal suggest
The fresh search interest is likely driven by an apparent mismatch between the headline sentence and time spent in custody. The verified account resolves the key point: Graham has been released under licence, so the sentence continues outside prison. The available reporting does not establish his individual licence terms or a complete calculation of credited remand time.
Analysis and commentary are SearchTrends Daily’s interpretation. They are intentionally separated from the sourced account above.
Meaning
Why this matters
The distinction between release and completion of a sentence matters to anyone trying to understand why a four-year prison term can involve less than four years behind bars. Licence is a supervised part of a sentence. Breaching its conditions can result in recall to custody. The case also remains a prominent example of the loss of a shared natural landmark: the tree was beside a UNESCO World Heritage site and its destruction drew widespread public anger.
Background
How we got here
The sycamore stood by Hadrian’s Wall and was felled overnight in September 2023. Prosecutors said Graham and Carruthers travelled from the Carlisle area with a chainsaw and took part of the tree away. A jury convicted both of criminal damage, and the Crown Prosecution Service announced their sentences on 15 July 2025. The National Trust has since pursued projects using surviving wood and seedlings from the original tree.
Image: the Sycamore Gap tree in October 2020, before it was felled. Photo by Clementp.fr via Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0; resized from the original. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Sycamore_Gap_Tree.jpg | https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/
Outlook
What is likely to happen next
The Ministry of Justice or probation authorities could provide more detail about the applicable release pathway or supervision, although individual licence terms may remain private. Any claim that a condition has been breached would need direct confirmation. The National Trust’s work with the tree’s wood and descendants will continue on a separate track from the criminal case.
A conditional editorial assessment based on the evidence available at the review date, not a guaranteed outcome.
Live record
Updates to this story
No material updates yet.
Commentary
What we think
Editorial view: coverage of this case should be precise about the loss of the landmark and equally precise about the sentence. Calling the release unconditional would mislead readers; implying an unpublished licence condition would do the same. The public deserves a clear account of what is known and what the justice system has not disclosed.